Research Guides: HIST 4379: Antebellum America ("The Age of Jackson"): Book primary sources

Library Catalog

UT-Tyler Libraries Catalog

The UT Tyler Libraries Catalog includes circulating books, reference books, books on microfilm and microfiche, state documents, and thousands of e-books.

Databases with Full-Text Books

Heritage Quest
Find information on people and places described in over 22,000 family and local histories. Includes images of census pages, 1790-1930. However, the census prior to 1850 lists only the head of household and then ranges of individuals by age and sex.
Making of America (Cornell)
Provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Making of America (Univ. of Michigan)
Contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Google Books
If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy. Limit to Full View Only if you want. Includes Congressional documents, Niles Weekly Register, some published speeches and books.

Finding Primary Sources in the Catalog

Start your search in the UT Tyler catalog with a subject or keyword subject, then enter one of the following words as a separate subject, then click on search.

Sources [will pull up collections of documents]

Diaries

Correspondence

Interviews

Personal narratives

You may also want to try for certain keywords in the title, usually the subtitle, such as "documentary history," "letters," or "papers." You will almost certainly get some false hits, but you can weed through them.

Finding Books That We Don't Own

WorldCat

In WorldCat, search the catalogs of libraries worldwide, using the same search strategies that you would use in our own catalog. Under Subtype limits, choose "not juvenile" and under any content choose "not fiction." You may also limit by format and language. Results appear ranked by number of libraries holding the title--the higher the number, the more likely that you will be able to get it on interlibrary loan. Click on a title for the full catalog record. Next to External Resources will be a link to Borrow from Another Library which will transfer the bibliographic information to an Illiad Interlibrary Loan form. You may also create lists and print or email the results.

Online Document Sets

Documenting the American South
A digital publishing initiative that provides internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes "The Church in the Southern Black Community," "First-Person Narratives of the American South" (look for appropriate dates), and "North American Slave Narratives," among many others.
Early Encounters in North America
Contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America from 1534 to 1850. Focuses on personal accounts from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and government officials. "Find encounters" allows you to limit by encounter name, start date, cultural group, encounter type, and subject heading.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
This collection provides a unique and personal view of what it means to immigrate to the U.S. and Canada. Includes over 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, and oral histories from 1840 to the present. Use "Find" and then "Authors" to limit, including year of immigration.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
This is the largest electronic collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning over 300 years, it includes approximately 150,000 pages of letters and diaries from the Colonial period through 1950.

American Memory (Library of Congress)
Provides free and open access through the internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Includes Frederick Douglass papers back to 1841, Thomas Jefferson papers through 1827, James Madison papers through 1836, Samuel F. B. Morse papers, Presidential inaugurations, slavery and the law documents, song sheets and sheet music, books by travelers in America 1750-1920, Congressional documents, and books on pioneering the upper Midwest.
America in Class: Primary Sources
Sets of primary sources including: The Triumph of Nationalism/The House Dividing and The Making of African American Identity--Volume 1, 1500-1865. Free and open to all.
Digital History--Pre-Civil War Era (University of Houston)
Includes overview, textbook, documents, events, people, music, film, images, "do history," multimedia, for teachers, links, and quizzes.

HIST 4379: Antebellum America ("The Age of Jackson")

Subject Guide

Browse the Library Collection

Library Catalog

Databases with Full-Text Books

Finding Primary Sources in the Catalog

Finding Books That We Don't Own

Online Document Sets


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube