Key Periodical Databases
- Academic Search Complete Most full text only goes back to 1999. To request items on interlibrary loan, click on that title, then Borrow from Another Library.
- America: History and Life The best source for online indexing and abstracts for articles, book reviews, and dissertation citations back to 1955. Some links to full text. To obtain items on Interlibrary Loan, click on the individual item, then Borrow from Another Library.
- American Peridocial Series Online Includes over 1,100 full-text periodicals published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines. Over 208,000 articles published during the Civil War.
- PAO: Peroidicals Archive Online Covers over 350 fulltext journals in the humanities and social sciences published from 1770 to the present. including Harper's New Monthly Magazine. Full image.
- JSTOR A full-image collection of the back issues of over 1100 scholarly journals including 97 of the top journals in history. Access from first issue to within 3-5 years of present.
Additional Journal and Periodical Databases
Click on the "i" for additional information, including specific Civil War titles included.
- Project Muse

Over 100 full-text journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, over 40 of them in history. None of the holdings are older than 1995, some only back to 2000. - Google Scholar
Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research. Click on Scholar Preferences, go down to Library Links, fill in University of Texas at Tyler, then Find Library. Check box. - Harper's Weekly (1857-1912)
Full image database of one of the main American periodicals of its age. Search by date, index terms, full text, or feature (cartoon, editorial, fiction, humor, illustration, map, news story, etc.). - Making of America (Cornell)

Provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. Full image. - Making of America (Univ. of Michigan)

Contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. Full image. - Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online

Includes primary source material published from 1543-1945, possibly the greatest single source for the study of international women's history and the feminist movement. Includes books and periodicals. Full image.
If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...
Go to the Online and Print Journals page, enter the title of the journal, and see if it is available in any of our subscription databases or in the Library in physical form. Check to make sure your date is covered, then click on the database name, or make a note to come by the library. If we don't have direct access to the journal issue you need, please fill out an interlibrary loan request form.
Printed Periodical Indexes
Yes, there was life before computers! We still have the old printed journal indexes which are useful for articles written before computerized databases. However, for most topics it would be more time saving to look at the bibliography of the most current secondary book on the topic that is available.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906). Ref. AI3 .P7 1938. This is included in the database 19thg Century Masterfile, available at Sam Houston State University Library, Texas A & M University Library, and the University of Texas at Austin.
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History, 1838-1974. Ref. Z6205 .C18.
Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide (1890-1899). Ref. AI3 .R47.
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-2001). Ref. AI3 .R47.
International Index to Periodicals. (1907-1965). Ref. AI3 .R49.
Social Science and Humanities Index (1955-1974). Ref. AI3 .R49.
Humanities Index (1974-1996). Ref. AI3 .H35.
Subject Guide |
Vicki BettsIf you message me while I'm offline, please give your name & email so I can help you.
Journals Available Through the UT-Tyler Library, by Field
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait