Database tutorials
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home Find a Book Find an Article Find a Journal Borrow From Another Library Course Reserves Research Guides How to Cite

Admin Sign In 

Britain and its Empire--17th Century 

Last update: Jun 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uttyler.edu/content.php?pid=32326  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find an Article (Databases)             Print Page
  

Key Periodical Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
    Large scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database containing over 5300 journal titles, about half with full image and/or full text articles. Most indexing dates back to 1993, and most full text only goes back to 1998.
  • America: History and Life  
    Indexing and abstracting for periodicals and dissertations on US and Canadian history. Published since 1955. Some links to full text.
  • Historical Abstracts  
    Indexing and abstracting for periodicals and dissertations on all *except* US and Canadian history. Covers 1450 to present, published since 1955. Some links to full text.

Journal and Periodical Databases

All titles, except for Google Scholar, are subscribed to by the University of Texas at Tyler Library for use of current students, faculty, or staff, or to patrons who visit on-site.

  • American Periodical Series Online  
      
    Includes over 1,100 full-text periodicals that were first published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines.
  • PAO: Periodicals Archive Online  
      
    Covers over 350 fulltext journals in the humanities and social sciences published from 1770 to the present.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A full-image collection of the back issues of over 1100 scholarly journals representing most major academic disciplines including 97 of the top journals in history. Access from first issue to within 3-5 years of present.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Over 100 full-text journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, over 40 of them in history. None of the holdings are older than 1995, some only back to 2000.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly lit from all broad areas of research. Click on Scholar Preferences, go down to Library Links, fill in University of Texas at Tyler, then Find Library. Check box. Show links--RefWork
  • Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online  
      
    Includes primary source material published from 1543-1945, possibly the greatest single source for the study of international women's history and the feminist movement. Includes books and periodicals.

If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...

Go to the Online and Print Journals page, enter the title of the journal, and see if it is available in any of our subscription databases or in the Library. Check to make sure your date is covered, then click on the database name, or make a note to come by the library. If we don't have direct access to the journal issue you need, please fill out an interlibrary loan request form.

 

Printed Periodical Indexes

Yes, there was life before computers! We still have the old printed journal indexes which are useful for earlier time periods. For example, if you are looking for public reaction to Pearl Harbor, check Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature for 1941-1942.

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-2001). Ref. AI3 .R47.

Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide (1890-1899). Ref. AI3 .R47.

Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History, 1838-1974. Ref. Z6205 .C18.

Humanities Index (1974-1996). Ref. AI3 .H35.

Social Science and Humanities Index (1955-1974). Ref. AI3 .R49.

International Index to Periodicals. (1907-1965). Ref. AI3 .R49.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906). Ref. AI3 .P7 1938.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageVicki Betts
If you message me while I'm offline, please give your name & email so I can help you.


Contact Info:
Robert R. Muntz Library
Office #209
(903) 566-7344
Send Email

Subjects:
History

Journals Available Through the UT-Tyler Library, by Field

 
Robert R. Muntz Library • The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7343 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present
Description

  Loading content... please wait