Skip to main content

CHEM 3370: Perspectives on Science and Mathematics | Mason: Databases

A guide to finding and using resources for assignments in CHEM 3370

Databases

The library provides access to more than 120 electronic databases to provide support for your research. Databases differ from the catalog a bit, both in the way they function, and in the content provided. All of the content in the databases is digital, although that does not mean print versions do not exist - you can access the Wall Street Journal through a ProQuest database, but you can also walk into almost any convenience store and buy a print copy.

You will need your Patriots credentials to access the databases, even if you're on campus.

Databases for Science & Math

ScienceDirect

Features full-text ebooks and journals in the biological sciences, biochemistry & genetics, molecular biology, chemistry, immunology, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social science, veterinary science, economics, and other disciplines.

Web of Science

Provides access to the world's leading citation databases, with coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access Journals. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1965.

MathSciNet

Provides reviews of current mathematical literature published worldwide and includes some material in computer science, physics, and astronomy.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Provides indexing for more than 2.4 million dissertation/theses entries including 930,000 available in full-text.

Proceedings

An index of worldwide conference proceedings.

JSTOR

Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.

Scholar Works @ UT Tyler

Scholar Works @ UT Tyler is our institutional repository (IR), which is the digital repository of scholarly works created by our faculty, students, and staff. 

Searching

You can search for articles a few ways. If you're just starting out with your research, you may want to start with SwoopSearch, which searches most of the library's holdings at one time. You will likely have books, eBooks, journal articles, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings - any type of resource we have available! 

If you're more familiar with your topic, or if you have specific citation you're trying to find, you may want to start at the Databases tab or the Journals tab. On the Databases tab, you can search a specific database from a list, or select a group sorted by subject. On the Journals tab, you can search for a journal by title, keyword, or ISSN.


Many assignments will require finding peer-reviewed articles. To do a search for these types of articles, once you have started your search, check out the list of limiters on the left hand side of the screen. These will help you limit to your specific needs.

Click on Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals. Type in the years of journals to be searched. Most science classes require articles written within the last 10 years.

These EBSCOhost tutorials demonstrate advanced search techniques.


In addition to library resources, you can discover scholarly documents across the web with Google Scholar. Book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, patents, and reports are available. If you're logged into the UT Tyler library and if the item is available from the library, then it can be accessed and downloaded immediately.