Skip to main content

ENGL 4355/5355 20th Century African American Literature: Websites

Other Online Resources for African-American History

Africabib.org--"AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research.  The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women's literature (African Women). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa). In June 2012 two bibliographies were added, one on Islam in Africa, compiled by Paul Schrijver, the other on the Kenya Coast, compiled by Jan Hoorweg. In July 2014 Water and Africa was added."

African Activist Archive (Michigan State University)--"The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The website includes: growing online archive of historical materials - pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings; personal remembrances and interviews with activists;an international directory of collections deposited in libraries and archives."

African-American Mosaic (Library of Congress)--"This exhibit marks the publication of The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. A noteworthy and singular publication, the Mosaic is the first Library-wide resource guide to the institution's African- American collections. Covering the nearly 500 years of the black experience in the Western hemisphere, the Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound."

African American Women Letters and Memoirs (Duke University)--one memoir, slave letters from Virginia (1847-1850), and one slave letter from North Carolina.

Black History Documents from Fold3.com--Although most of Fold3 is a private subscription database, key documents on Black History are open access, from slavery to the Civil Rights Movement.

BlackPast.org--Dr. Quintard Taylor, University of Washington, president--"This 13,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world."

The Church in the Southern Black Community (University of North Carolina)--"The collection of documents brought together in this project begins to tell the story of the growth of Protestant religion among African Americans during the nineteenth century, and of the birth of what came to be known as the "Black Church" in the United States. This development continues to have enormous political, spiritual, and economic consequences."

Crisis Magazine of the NAACP, April 1911 to 2011 (NAACP via Google Books)--appears volume by volume, most current year first.  If you click on a volume you will be able to search within that volume.

In Motion:  The African-American Migration Experience (Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture)--"presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds."  The website goes from the trans-Atlantic Slave Trade to current African immigration.  Each migration includes references and links.

National Museum of African American History and Culture (Smithsonian Institute)--Includes exhibitions, programs, events, and education.  See especially the Freedmen's Bureau Project, an ongoing project to crowd source indexing the names in Freedmen's Bureau records to create an online searchable database!

Negro Travelers' Green Book (Spring 1956) (University of South Carolina)--"The Negro Travelers’ Green Book was a travel guide series published from 1936 to 1964 by Victor H. Green. It was intended to provide African American motorists and tourists with the information necessary to board, dine, and sightsee comfortably and safely during the era of segregation."  Includes Tyler!!

Roll of Emigrants to Liberia, 1820-1843; and Liberian Census Data, 1843 (University of Wisconsin--Madison)--"This site carries data and documentation from the Roll of Emigrants to Liberia between 1820 and 1843, representing individuals who were brought to the colony by the American Colonization Society. Also included are data and documentation for the 1843 Liberian Census."

Rosenwald School Database (Fisk University)--"In 1912, Booker T. Washington approached philanthropist Julius Rosenwald about his concept to build rural schools desperately needed for African American children across the segregated south. That partnership sparked an initiative that eventually created more than 5300 schools, vocational shops and teacher’s homes across 15 states in the South and Southwest from 1912-1932."  Use this database to discover photos and information on schools in particular states and counties--18 in Smith County, Texas.

Tulsa Race Riot (Tulsa Historical Society and Museum)--"n the early morning hours of June 1, 1921, Black Tulsa was looted and burned by white rioters. Governor Robertson declared martial law, and National Guard troops arrived in Tulsa. Guardsmen assisted firemen in putting out fires, took imprisoned blacks out of the hands of vigilantes and imprisoned all black Tulsans not already interned. Over 6,000 people were held at the Convention Hall and the Fairgrounds, some for as long as eight days.  Twenty-four hours after the violence erupted, it ceased. In the wake of the violence, 35 city blocks lay in charred ruins, over 800 people were treated for injuries and estimated reports of deaths began at 36*."

Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers of Color

Voices of the Shuttle- African American Literature