"The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. Our archives contain 128,921 documents and are growing rapidly."--University of California Santa Barbara. Click on Documents.
Contains factual information about the people, geography, government, economy, communication, transportation, and military agencies of countries around the world. Also includes data on the United States. Updated weekly.
The Law Library of Congress contains approximately 75,000 volumes of printed Congressional Hearings. As part of the Law Library’s transition to the digital future, a collaborative pilot project was undertaken with Google, Inc. to digitize the entire collection and make it freely available to Congress and the world. Three collections have been selectively compiled to provide users with a test experience: census. freedom of information and privacy, and immigration.
Committees hold hearings for a variety of purposes. Testimony is received from members of congress, officials of the executive branch, policy experts, interest groups and sometimes the general public on legislative proposals, the functioning of government programs, subjects of controversy, and matters under investigation. The Law Library’s hearing collection is a rich resource for anyone interested in the history of issues that still face our country today. These selected Hearings, presented as Adobe Acrobat PDF files, are samples of a larger group that will be digitized and made available as a result of this project.
Established in 1999, this site is valuable for its extensive coverage of both historical and current information on United States presidencies and is easy to navigate. It provides a searchable database of over 85,000 documents, such as speeches, official papers, executive orders, proclamations, news conferences, and press briefings (from ALA Best Reference Websites description)