Region 7, in Kilgore, offers information on becoming a teacher, certification programs, EcoLand Early Learning Center, House Bill 5 resources, Region 7 Online Store, state testing calendars, teacher and principal evaluations, and a technology helpdesk, among many other things.
This annual compendium report to Congress describes the current status and recent progress of education in the U.S. The Condition of Education is an indicator report, analyzing key data that measure the health of education, monitor important developments, and show trends in major aspects of education. Provided by the National Center for Education Statistics.
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
Includes materials for TExES (Texas Examinations of Educator Standards™) and ExCET (Examination for the Certification of Educators in Texas). Page also includes links for exam registration and other important information.
Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §230.5(b) requires every person seeking educator certification in Texas to perform satisfactorily on comprehensive examinations.
The Texas Public Education Information Resource (TPEIR) website provides reports and data on Texas educational topics and trends.
These reports combine multiple data sources to produce useful information about Texas public school students from PK through college and into the workforce. Teacher certification and school district staff reports are also available.
All public schools in Texas, including charter schools, with accountability rating (met standard, improvement required, not rated), indexes, and distinctions. Listed by school district name. Innovation Academy is listed under UT Tyler Innovation Academy.
"supports schools in meeting the educational needs of all students by providing a means for schools to share information about evidence-based best practices." Searchable by Evidence Type, District/Campus Type, and Topic Area.
Information on PACT (Pre-Admission Content Testing), TExES (Teacher Examinations of Educator Standards), TExMaT (Texas Examinations of Master Teachers, TASC and TASC-ASL (Texas Assessment of Sign Communication), ACTFL (American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages), and AAFCS (American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences).
A part of the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, the NCES is the primary agency in charge of collecting and analyzing education statistics and data. You can get a variety of reports and statistics here.
This is the federal government website of the education research database. Notice that the library makes this database available via EBSCO as well. You can access that from the "Find an Article" page in this guide. Or you can use this website.
ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
The Census Bureau is the primary agency collecting and analyzing data about people and the economy for the nation. Use the A-Z subject link, choose "Education" to find various statistics and items of interest.
You can also use the search box to type a topic and see if the Census has covered it. For example, try searching for "educational attainment." If you do this, set the search to search the Census website (not the FAQs).
Published by the Census Bureau, it is "the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." Includes lots of education statistics. A good starting point for statistics up through 2011, when it was terminated due to lack of funds.
This is "a global network of more than 450 advising centers supported by the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at the U.S. Department of State. " It is basically a higher education guide for international students. Worth a look.
Sponsored by the U.S. DOE, provides more than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies. New sites are added regularly. According to the site, "FREE is among the most popular K-12 websites maintained by the U.S. Department of Education because of the many great resources being offered by contributing federal agencies." Note that you can subscribe to the site's RSS and get updates if you use a feed reader.
In addition to information about their grants and funding, many of their reports, including some in education, are freely available on the website. NSF is the funding source for approximately 20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
Since 1960, Grapevine has published annual compilations of data on state tax support for higher education, including general fund appropriations for universities, colleges, community colleges, and state higher education agencies. Each year’s Grapevine survey has asked states for tax appropriations data for the new fiscal year and for revisions (if any) to data reported in previous years. This resource is produced by Illinois State University’s Center for the Study of Education Policy in cooperation with the State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO).