Skip to main content

History (General)

Research guide for History

Microform Collections

Through the years the Robert R. Muntz Library has purchased a number of microfiche, ultrafiche, and microfilm collections of historical primary documents. They are housed in cabinets on the 2nd (main) floor of the library, along the far wall behind the history reference books. Machines for reading, saving to flash drive, emailing, and printing these documents to paper are at the other end of the same wall. All printing from microfilm and fiche is free to all students, faculty, and visitors. Please ask the person at reference for assistance.

Collections include:

Library of American Civilization--This collection contains material relating to all aspects of American life, from the country's earliest days to the start of World War I. The majority of items were published before 1914. The collection contains many rare and out of print books and and material of foreign origin relating to America. All titles are in the library catalog with a call number beginning LAC. Bound indexes available on top of the cabinet. See below for a website with links to online versions of these documents.  Many of these titles are now available on Google Books.

American Culture Series II--5,600 titles representing what are considered to be fundamental research materials in interdisciplinary American Studies curricula, covering 1493-1875.  All titles are in the Muntz Catalog with a call number beginning Am.Cul.II.  Many of these titles are now available on Google Books.

Texas as Province and Republic, 1795-1845. 39 reels. Indexed in Streeter Bibliography, Ref. Z1339.S8 1983. All known Texas, Mexican, U.S., and European imprints related to Texas published between 1795 and 1845. See below for a link to a discussion of the bibliography which includes a copy of the bibliography only, not the documents.

Records of the Field Offices for the State of Texas, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1870. Two reels of microfilm on the 2nd floor of the library, E185.93 .T4 R43, reel 26-27, includes Seguin, Sterling, Sumpter, Tyler, and Waco.

Records of Criminal Offenses Committed in the State of Texas.  Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.  One reel of microfilm on the 2nd floor of the library, E185.93 .T4.

Books for College Libraries--Core collection of books that should be in every academic library. All titles are in the library catalog with a call number beginning BCL. The Muntz Library may or may not have paper copies of these books.

Foreign Relations of the United States, 1861-1956

Vienna Congress, 1814-1815

PCMI (Photo Chromic Micro Image) ultrafiche--A broad range of books and documents. Most titles are in the library catalog with a call number beginning PCMI.

Session Laws--American States and Territories--Texas. Fiche version of Gammel's Laws now available online from the University of North Texas.

Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression--Folder available on top of the cabinet.

Nuremburg Trials (Blue and Green series)--Folders available on top of the cabinet.

British and Foreign State Papers--Folder available on top of the cabinet.

British Parliamentary Debates

U.S. State Department Bulletin

Historical Trials

Legislative History, PL 82-9 through PL 92-603

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Germany: Internal Affairs, 1930-1941. DD234.A3 G47 1984. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records. Russia and the Soviet Union. DK266.A3 C667 1914-1918. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

New York Times Oral History Project. Columbia University Collection. 29 rolls. Book on top of the cabinet.

U.S. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. Records of the Field Office. Tyler, Texas. E185.93.T4 R43.

Records of Criminal Offenses Committed in the State of Texas, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1866-1867.  E185.93 .T4.

Daniel Webster Papers. E337.8 .W3 1971x.

Translations of Statistical and Census Reports of Texas, 1792-1836, and Sources Documenting the Black in Texas, 1603-1803.

OSS/State Dept. Intelligence and Research Reports. Germany and its Occupied Territories During World War II. HV7568 .O8. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

OSS/State Dept. Intelligence and Research Reports. Postwar Europe. HV7568 .O8. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

Potsdam Conferrence Documents. J82.D71 P6. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

Presidential Election of 1900 ... 1968. JK524 .P7.

John F. Kennedy Memorial Collection.

LBJ Clip File (Houston, TX). Roll #009.

League of Nations. Serial Publications, 1919-1946.  Book indexes.

 

  

Newspapers on Microfilm

TitleCoverage
Abilene, TX Taylor County News,1889-1891
Austin, TX Texas State Gazette, 1849-1855
  State Gazette, 1855-1864
  Weekly Gazette,1864-1878
  Democratic Statesman,1871-1873
  Daily Democratic Statesman, 1873-1880
  Austin Daily Statesman, 1880-1889
  Austin Statesman, 1890-1891
  Austin Daily Statesman, 1892-1915
  Austin Statesman and the Tribune, 1915
  Evening Statesman, 1916
  Statesman, 1916-1920
  Austin Statesman, 1921-1973
  Austin American, 1920-1973
  Austin American Statesman, 1973-1985
Boston, MA Christian Science Monitor, 1978-2003
Clarksville, TX Standard, 1842-1853
Commerce, TX Daily Journal, 1916-1928, 1930, 1932-1938
Dallas, TX Dallas Journal, 1920-1940
Galveston, TX Galveston News, 1844-1855, 1860-1866
  Galveston Tri-Weekly News, 1860-1861, 1863-1872
  Weekly Journal, 1851-1855
Houston, TX Democratic Telegraph and Texas Register, 1846-1850
  Houston Post, 1987-1995
  Houston Tri-Weekly Telegraph, 1856-1870
  Houston Chronicle, 1995-2001
London, England Times, 1785-2003
Manchester, England Manchester Guardian, 1953-1959
  The Guardian, 1959-1969
  Guardian Weekly, 1968-1978
  Manchester Guardian Weekly, 1978-1991
Marshall, TX Harrison Flag, 1858-1861; 1865-1868
New York, NY New York Times, 1857-2004
  Wall Street Journal, 1929-1933, 1968-2004
San Antonio, TX San Antonio Zeitung, 1853-1856
  San Antonio Herald, 1857-1859
  San Antonio Express, 1887, 1930-1932, 1936
Tyler, TX Tyler Telegraph, 1852
  Tyler Reporter, 1855, 1859, 1861, 1862, 1864
  Tyler Evening Times, 1907
  Semi-Weekly Courier Times, 1909-1910
  Weekly Courier-Times, 1910
  Tyler Morning Tribune, 1918
  Tyler Journal, 1933, 1935-1936
  Tyler Courier-Times-Telegraph, 1985-1995
  Tyler Daily Courier Times, 1985-1995
  Tyler Morning Telegraph, 1930-2004
Washington, DC Washington Post, 1973-2001

How do I know what microfilm exists?

If you are looking for out of state newspapers, check WorldCat or the three volume Newspapers in Microform:  United States (Ref. Z6945 .U4811 1973 and Z6945 .U4811 1984.)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram