Before you dive into searching library resources or Google Scholar, consider your research topic or question:
Use Boolean operators to narrow or expand your search scope:
Google Scholar searches scholarly sources like academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, university websites, and more. Instead of their typical Google algorithms, Google Scholar uses rankings with more weight given to the full text, author, publication location, and citation in other scholarly literature.
Features 3 concise, self-paced modules to guide novice researchers through searching for and using appropriate sources in writing.
These self-paced modules are especially useful for those wishing to increase their research impact. Topics include funding and grant writing, technical writing skills, finding the right journal for your manuscript, and more.
A tool created to help researchers explore methods concepts, help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
AAAS Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
A comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals from the American Chemical Society.
Provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Please REGISTER for an account before accessing SciFinder Scholar.
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science.
Includes the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Access to over 80 full-text journals published by the Institute of Physics.
Provides reviews of current mathematical literature published worldwide and includes some material in computer science, physics, and astronomy.
Databases across major subject areas: business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, performing and visual arts, history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes thousands of full-text global newspapers.
A helpful resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.
Features full-text ebooks and journals in the biological sciences, biochemistry & genetics, molecular biology, chemistry, immunology, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social science, veterinary science, economics, and other disciplines.
Includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases, with coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access Journals. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1965.