The World Wide Web is full of websites that may or may not be of any use in your research. How can you tell whether you're looking at a good source or a bad one? Here are some tips:
Look at the name: Take a look at the url (web address) - what is the domain? Typically .edu and .gov websites will have stricter guidelines about what can be published and by whom.
Find the contact information: Authors love to be recognized! When you put a lot of work into finding and synthesizing information for publication, you want people to know who you are, or at least the organization you wrote it for. Be wary of websites with no way of contacting the creators.
Look for sources: Good researchers, even when writing informally, will cite their sources. This may be a link embedded in their post, mentioning the source by name in the content, or a more formal footnote or list of works cited. This gives you the opportunity to read the original material and see if you come to the same conclusions!
Along with images and detailed descriptions of Leonardo da Vinci's paintings, drawings, manuscripts, and inventions, this site includes an interactive timeline showing thematic links amongst the works, a bibliography and links to related websites.
the British Library has released over a million public domain illustrations and other images to the public through Flickr for anyone to reuse, remix or repurpose. So far, these images, which range from Restoration-era cartoons to colonial explorers’ early photographs, from public domain books in its digitized collection, which includes over 65,000 books from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries.
Provides ballad facsimiles, transcriptions, recordings if a tune is extant, extensive cataloguing of the ballads including illustrations/ woodcut impressions, and both basic and advanced search functions for individual ballads and their constituent parts or makers. Also included are backgrounds on the EBBA ballad collections, ballad culture and other ballad resources.
Hathi Trust is a digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries including Yale, Harvard, California Digital Library, Columbia University, Indiana University, Michigan State University, New York Public Library, Northwestern University to name a few. You can search the online catalogue to find many full text resources. Those that are not full text you can search within the text and see which libraries closest to you have a print copy.
The National Gallery Technical Bulletin, first published in 1977, has achieved a leading position in the study of the materials and techniques of painting, and the scientific examination of paintings. Published annually, it is essential reading for conservators, conservation scientists, art historians, collectors and curators. Drawing on the combined expertise of curators, scientists and conservators, it brings together a wealth of information about artists materials, practices and techniques.
The Getty Provenance Index® Databases, part of the Project for the Study of Collecting and Provenance (PSCP), are compiled with the collaborative participation of institutions and individuals in Europe and the United States. The databases contain indexed transcriptions of material from auction catalogs and archival inventories of western European works of art, and contain nearly 1,000,000 records that cover the period from the late 16th century to the early 20th century.
The UNT World War One Collection contains materials that focus on the World War I ear, 1914-1948. In addition to materials that were actually created during the ear, the collection may include modern studies and commemorative works about the era.
From World War I French victory figures to grim views of the Nazi Regime, these posters demonstrate the power of words and images. The collection is particularly strong in WWI French and American posters, and WWII American "home front" posters. War bonds, rationing, enlistment, security, and morale are all topics treated by these artworks.
The World War Two Collection contains materials that focus on the WWII era, 1939-1945, and the immediate postwar period of the late 1940s. In addition to materials that were actually created during the era, the collection may include modern studies and commemorative works about the era.
The Newsmaps were published by the US War Department during WWII. They usually feature maps displaying the theatres of conflict, and often include narrative descriptions of war-related events. Some feature photographic essays or poster-like designs on themes such as enemy insignias, demobilization, and farm loans.
The Vatican Apostolic Library is now digitising its valuable ancient religious manuscripts free.
founded in 1451 AD and holds over 80,000 manuscripts, prints, drawings, plates and incunabula (books printed prior to 1500 AD) written throughout history by people of different faiths from across the world. This alsoincludes letters from important historical figures, drawings and notes by artists and scientists such as Michelangelo and Galileo, as well as treaties from all eras in history.
Celebrate the history of women artists and art historians by exploring and transcribing archival collections from the Archives of American Art. Through diaries, notebooks, essays, and correspondence, learn about the life and careers of painters, sculptors, writers, critics and art historians who made their mark on American history. Each month through March 2020, a new creative woman will be featured through projects which contextualize her life, work, and the era in which she lived.
Though many academics have studied the playwright, Dr. Michael John Goodman approached his work from a new angle. As part of his Ph.D., Goodman created the Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive (VISA), a database of over 3,000 Shakespeare illustrations. Focusing in on illustrations from the Victorian age (1837-1901), Goodman carefully scanned and cataloged images from four major editions of Shakespeare’s work produced during the period. By organizing the public domain works, he gives academics and enthusiasts the opportunity to see how artists brought Shakespeare’s words to life. Easily searchable by title, character, genre, location, and illustrator, VISA is an easy to use resource that allows for quick side by side comparisons.
This site documents buildings and leading architects with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more. For up-to-the-moment coverage of the latest buildings, designers, and ideas, this site also cross-links with ArchitectureWeek, the leading architecture magazine online, and Archiplanet, the community-created all-buildings collection.
This web site includes 19th and early 20th century drawings, prints, and photographs, showing the appearance of these four cities before the extensive restoration and how early explorers recorded these wonders. In addition, there are over 1000 recent photographs, showing unpublished architectural and sculptural details, interior spaces, paint remains, and current restoration. Two or more photographs can be opened at the same time as well as an extensive annotated bibliography.
AAA is dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources of the history of the visual arts in America;with 16+ million letters, diaries, scrapbooks of artists, dealers, and collectors; manuscripts of critics/scholars; business/ financial records of museums, galleries, schools, associations; photos of art figures/events; sketches/sketchbooks; rare printed material; film, audio and video recordings; and the largest collection of oral histories in art.
International collaboration to make information and images of artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet with collections of paintings, artifacts, textiles, manuscripts, historical photographs, and maps from collections in the UK , China, France, Germany, Japan, Russia and other countries.
This site covers images of artifacts, monuments, and historical sites from Portugal, Spain, Italy, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, the Palestinian Authority, Syria, Turkey, Germany, Sweden and the UK.