The world's largest multi-label database of classical music recordings for listening and learning. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times to the present. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
The world's largest online classical music library. It offers streaming access to more than 653,000 tracks, representing, in addition to classical, jazz, blues, rock, classic pop and Chinese orchestral music.
Principally an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire. ASC also contains some IPA translations as well.
With funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. In an effort to bring these recordings to a wider audience, they can be freely downloaded or streamed online.
ITMA is the largest Irish music collection in existence. They publish selections of digitized materials from the collection on this site; presented in four sections: Sound Recordings, Visual Materials, Printed Items, and Interactive Music Scores. Search the entire library for separate items by using the search function, or browse each section individually. NOTE: most of the language used on this site is traditional Irish Gaelic.
The James Koetting Ghana Field Recordings collection presents a vibrant mix of traditional and popular music recorded at a broad range of locations and events in Ghana during the 1970s by ethnomusicologist James Koetting. Students and researchers can hear online the complete archive of Koetting's field tapes — 142 audio reel tapes — of musical performances from arts festivals, traditional ceremonies and events, stage concerts, church services, and less formal gatherings and sessions througho
This is a website from the Florida State University Judaica Sound Archives which collects, preserves, and digitizes Judaica sound recordings. The website only holds about 10% of the archives but if you visit one of the "Research Station" universities, you can access the entire archives.
The Virtual Gramophone database contains information and images for more than 15,000 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.In addition there are biographies of prominent Canadian performers, short histories of Canadian record companies, background information on music styles and the recording technology of the time, and digital audio reproductions of selected recordings.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Databases range from African-American Southern US recordings, 1938-1943 to Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1873-1920.
The multiformat Aaron Copland Collection from which the online collection derives spans the years 1910 to 1990 and includes approximately 400,000 items documenting the multifaceted life of an extraordinary person who was composer, performer, teacher, writer, conductor, commentator, and administrator. It comprises both manuscript and printed music, personal and business correspondence, diaries, writings, scrapbooks, programs, newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, awards, books, sound rec
"Now What a Time": Blues, Gospel, and the Fort Valley Music Festivals, 1938-1943 consists of approximately one hundred sound recordings, primarily blues and gospel songs, and related documentation from the folk festival at Fort Valley State College (now Fort Valley State University), Fort Valley, Georgia. The documentation was created by John Wesley Work III in 1941 and by Lewis Jones and Willis Laurence James in March, June, and July 1943. Also included are recordings made in Tennessee and Alab
This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future.
Band Music from the Civil War Era makes available examples of brass band music that flourished in the 1850s in the United States and remained popular through the19th century. This online collection includes both printed and manuscript music (mostly in the form of "part books" for individual instruments).The collection features over 700 musical compositions, as well as 8 full-score modern editions and 19 recorded examples of brass band music in performance.
The WPA California Folk Music Project is a multi-format ethnographic field collection that includes sound recordings, still photographs, drawings, and written documents from a variety of European ethnic and English- and Spanish-speaking communities in Northern California. The collection comprises 35 hours of folk music recorded in twelve languages representing numerous ethnic groups and 185 musicians.
Emile Berliner and the Birth of the Recording Industry is a selection of more than 400 items from the Emile Berliner Papers and 108 Berliner sound recordings from the Library of Congress's Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Spanning the years 1870 to 1956, the collection comprises correspondence, articles, lectures, speeches, scrapbooks, photographs, catalogs, clippings, experiment notes, and rare sound recordings.
This collection is a multi-format ethnographic field collection of traditional fiddle tunes performed by Henry Reed. The tunes represent the music and history of Virginia's Appalachian frontier. This online collection incorporates 184 original sound recordings, 19 pages of fieldnotes, and 69 musical transcriptions with descriptive notes on tune histories and musical features; an illustrated essay about Reed's life, art, and influence,a list of related publications; and a musical term glossary.
Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection is an online presentation of a multi-format ethnographic field collection documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado.
The collections in the Library of Congress's Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division contain an extraordinary range of the surviving products of Edison's entertainment inventions and industries. This site features 341 motion pictures, 81 disc sound recordings, and other related materials, such as photographs and original magazine articles. Cylinder sound recordings will be added to this site in the near future.
The Leonard Bernstein Collection is one of the largest and most varied of the many special collections held by the Library of Congress Music Division. Its more than 400,000 items, including music and literary manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, audio and video recordings, fan mail, and other types of materials extensively document Bernstein's extraordinary life and career. This online Leonard Bernstein Collection makes available a selection of 85 photographs, 177 scripts from the Young Peo
Omaha Indian Music features traditional Omaha music from the 1890s and 1980s. The multiformat ethnographic field collection contains 44 wax cylinder recordings collected by Francis La Flesche and Alice Cunningham Fletcher between 1895 and 1897, 323 songs and speeches from the 1983 Omaha harvest celebration pow-wow, and 25 songs and speeches from the 1985 Hethu'shka Society concert at the Library of Congress. Segments from interviews with members of the Omaha tribe conducted in 1983 and 1999 prov
Southern Mosaic includes nearly 700 sound recordings, fieldnotes, dust jackets documenting a 6,502-mile trip in 1939 through the southern United States. John Avery Lomax, recorded approximately 25 hours of folk music from more than 300 performers. These recordings represent a broad spectrum of traditional musical styles, including ballads, blues, children's songs, cowboy songs, fiddle tunes, field hollers, lullabies, play-party songs, religious dramas, spirituals, and work songs.
Voices from the Dust Bowl: The Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin Migrant Worker Collection is an online presentation of a multi-format ethnographic field collection documenting the everyday life of residents of Farm Security Administration (FSA) migrant work camps in central California in 1940 and 1941 including audio recordings of worker and dust bowl songs.
The Louisiana State Museum Digital Library Jazz collection is composed of photographs, audio recordings and musical instruments from the collections of the Louisiana State Museum. Primarily dealing with traditional New Orleans jazz, the collections focus on photographs (including all of the Museum's images of Louis Armstrong) and audio recordings of musicians and bands that were primarily active in New Orleans, although many toured throughout the country and the world. The musical instruments sp
(MUNFLA, Memorial University of Newfoundland Folklore and Language Archive): Songs and dance tunes from Newfoundland and Cape Breton, collected between 1949-51 by MacEdward Leach. Streaming audio and some notation available.
The Milman Parry Collection is the largest single repository of South Slavic heroic song in the world.The database contains records for all of the epic songs, stories, & conversations in the Milman Parry Collection, & the Albert B. Lord Collection. Users may search, save, & email these records. It has the names of singers, titles of songs, & provides information on the place, date, method of recording, & biographical facts related to the singer.