Skip to main content

Fall 2017 History Newsletter: Website Updates

Website Updates

New Search Box:

If you have been to the Library's website recently, you have probably already noticed that we have a new search box: 

Screenshot showing the SwoopSearch search box


Use Advanced Search for more options: 

Screenshot showing the Advanced Search options. The search scope can be changed from SwoopSearch to Library Catalog, Scholar Works, or Guides. "Any field" can be changed to Title, Author/Creator or Subject. "Contains" can be changed to "is (exact)" or "starts with". Material Type can be changed from "All Items" to Books, Articles, Journals, Images, or Audio Visual.

You can make use of the "Tweak my Results" options on the results page to narrow your results (by Availability, Resource Type, Subject, Author/Creator, Creation Date, Library, Collection, Language, Journal Title, or Location).     


Please note that this new search system was recently implemented and there are still adjustments being made. One of these is addressing the Guest login feature that is currently showing up on the search page. For now, please disregard this login! If you are working off-campus, you should be prompted to login with your University credentials in order to access the Library resources. This prompt should come up when you try to access a database directly or if you try to access a library resource (for example, an article that you find through SwoopSearch). If using SwoopSearch, use the links for online access in the item record and sign in using your University credentials when prompted.

Screenshot highlighting the Guest Login on SwoopSearch. For now, please disregard this login!

Journals


Getting to the Journals:

If you know the name of the Journal that you would like to access, you can pull up Journals by Title using the link in the search box or under Research in the drop-down menu on the left side of the Library's website:

Screenshot showing the Journals by Title option in the search boxScreenshot showing the Journals by Title option under the Research drop-down menu

Use the options to locate a journal by title or pull up a list of journals by category (i.e. Category: Arts and Humanities, SubCategory: History).

Screenshot showing the Journals by Title screen


Example using Journals by Title to find out if we have access to full text of a journal:

Let's say that you had found an abstract for an article from the Journal of Military History from 1956 and you needed to check to see if we had access to the full text of the article before requesting it through interlibrary loan. Pull up the Journals by Title feature and look up the Journal of Military History using the title:


Screenshot showing the results of a Journals by Title Search for Journal of Military History.  We find we do have access to the Journal of Military History.  We have it available through 5 different sources, depending on the date we are interested in.  This shows us that full text from 1937 until (and including) 2000 should be available through ProQuest PAO Periodicals Archive Online.  In this example we are interested in an article from 1956, so we would want to click on ProQuest PAO Periodicals Archive Online.


Screenshot showing the results of a Journals by Title search for Journal of Military History.  We find we do have access to the Journal of Military History.  We have it available through 5 different sources, depending on the date we are interested in.  This shows us that full text from 1937 until (and including) 2000 should be available through ProQuest PAO Periodicals Archive Online.  In this example, we are interested in an article from 1956, so we would want to click on the ProQuest PAO Periodicals Archive Online.

Articles


Getting Full Text of Articles:

You may come across an article indexed in a database that you are interested in but which isn't available full text through that database (i.e. there is no PDF or html Full Text). The full text may not be available through that particular database but it doesn't necessarily mean that the Library doesn't have access to the full text of the article (we may through another source). The first thing to keep an eye out for is a link in the article record that may take you to the full text. 

For example, in Historical Abstracts, if PDF or HTML Full Text is not listed for an article:

  • Click on the title of the article to open the article record
  • Even if the record shows "Borrow from another library", scroll down in the article record to the DOI field to see if there is a link
  • If the DOI field contains a link - click on that link to see if it takes you to the full-text of the article 

Screenshot showing entry for an article in Historical Abstracts which does not have a PDF or HTML of the article attached.  Instead it has Borrow from Another Library.  Near the end of the article entry is a DOI.  If the DOI is a link try clicking on that see if it will take you to the full text of the article.

If there is not a link, or that link does not take you to the full text of the article, you will want to try one of the other suggestions below to see if we have access to the article before you request it through interlibrary loan. 


Check to see if we have access to the journal:

Use the citation information to identify the particular volume/issue of the journal that the article is from. Use the Journals by Title feature to find out if the Library has full text access to the journal for the date that you are looking for (see above for an example).


Try the new CitationLinker feature:

If you have the citation information for an article and want to check to see if the Library has access to the full text, try using the new CitationLinker feature. 

  • Pull up Journals by Title using the link in the search box or under Research in the drop-down menu on the left side of the Library's website:

Screenshot showing the Journals by Title option in the search boxScreenshot showing the Journals by Title option under the Research drop-down menu

  • Go over to the CitationLinker tab and enter the information to see if we have the article:

Screenshot showing CitationLinker


Example using CitationLinker:

Below is an example of an article record found during a search of HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS. There is not full text of the article available in the database and there is not a link to connect us to the full text. We need to check to see if the Library has access to the full article. 

Screenshot showing an example article record.  Use the Journal Title, Date, Volume, Issue and Page Numbers to try to locate the article through CitationLinker, or use the DOI to try to locate the article through CitationLinker.


Screenshots using Journal Title, Date, Volume, Issue, and Page Numbers, and DOI to look up an article using Citation Linker.

Entry for article from the journal Irish Economic and Social History in the SAGE journals database, with a link to PDF.


Remember Interlibrary Loan:

If, after checking to see if the Library has access, you find out that the Library doesn't have access to the full text of the article that you want, don't forget that you can submit a request for the article through Interlibrary Loan ("Borrow from another library"). 

Frequently Asked Questions


Frequently Asked Questions:

Frequently Asked Questions