Skip to main content

Faculty Resources: Library Services

.

 


Regular Hours:
Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
 
Summer Hours:
Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
 
Special Hours:
View
Library Spaces - Computer Lab 422
  • LIB 422 is prioritized for library instruction, library orientations, and student quiet study when library classes are not being held.
    • Current UT Tyler faculty and staff may reserve LIB 422, no earlier than two weeks prior to the event.
    • Please contact Circulation at 903.566.7342 or circulation@uttyler.edu for more information. 
 
Library Spaces - Quiet Zones
 
  • The first and fourth floors of the Library are designated as Quiet Zones.
    • Tables are located on the first floor. 
    •  Individual carrels, soft furniture, and study tables are located on the fourth floor. 
  • The library also offers individual study rooms, however, these rooms are on the third floor zoned Social. 
    • While they do not provide complete insulation from sound from the collaborative study area, they do provide privacy.  
 
Library Spaces - Social Zones
  • Muntz Library provides a variety of study spaces including group and collaborative study areas. 
    • The second and third floors of the Library are designated “Social Zones” with various types of seating and study tables available throughout.
  • Three group study rooms on the third floor, which comfortably seat five to six people, are available for check out on a first come, first served basis.   
    • Checkout is for three hours with one renewal allowed based on availability.
  • The Library offers two large rooms for presentation practice, one each on the second and fourth floors.
    • Reservations are not required but are advisable by contacting Circulation staff in person or call 903.566.7342. 
    • Two hour reservations can be made up to two weeks in advance for one check out per group, per day, and one two hour renewal per group based on availability. 
  • Two study pods are available on the second floor, and are available on first come, first served basis. 
    • Seating in study pods varies from four to six people. 

 

.

 


Faculty:

Borrowing Books

  • 75 Book Limit
  • 1 Semester Period
  • 1 Renewal

Borrowing Periodicals

  • Items included in Books total
  • 3 Weeks Period
  • 2 Renewals

Borrowing Audio-Visual Materials

  • 3 Items Limit
  • 1 Week Period
  • No Renewals

Borrowing Phonograph Records

  • 3 Items Limit
  • 1 Week Period
  • No Renewals

Retired/Emeritus Faculty Courtesy Card:

Borrowing Books

  • 10 Book Limit
  • 1 Week Period
  • 1 Renewal
  • Expiration: December 31st in the year of card issuance

 

More information available:

 http://www.uttyler.edu/library/circulation/privileges.php

 

.

 


 

The Robert R. Muntz Library is committed to supporting the research of UT Tyler faculty members.

  • In addition to interlibrary loan services, the Library provides PDF copies of UT Tyler owned journals and book chapters, as well as delivery of full-text database articles.
  • Document delivery requests must be submitted through ILLiad, the Interlibrary Loan system, and are automatically requested via Interlibrary Loan if there is no copy available at the Library.

Description

Articles/Citations from Databases:

Library subscribed articles and book chapters are scanned for electronic delivery through the ILLiad system or sent via interoffice mail (if electronic delivery is inoperable). All citation specific requests must be received through the ILLiad system.

All ILLiad article requests that are located in UT Tyler’s online databases in full-text PDF format will be delivered electronically to your ILLiad accounts.

Articles/Books from Print Collection:

UT Tyler circulating books are pulled from the shelves and held for 7 days for faculty to checkout from the Circulation desk. A UT Tyler I.D. card is required to checkout items on hold. Courier Services delivers books/articles to faculty located at the Longview and Palestine campuses.

Journal Articles:

No more than 1 article from the same issue will be scanned/copied (black & white only) and delivered via ILLiad.

Book chapters:

No more than 2 chapters per book will be scanned. No more than 50 pages per chapter will be scanned (black & white only) and delivered via ILLiad.

Copyright

If the fulfillment of an order would involve violation of copyright law, the Robert R. Muntz Library reserves its right to refuse to accept a copying order.

Delivery Time

Approximately 1 to 3 days. No rush requests please. Times will vary from the average during holidays and breaks. Requests will be filled in the order received.

Charges

There are no costs to faculty for this courtesy service.

If you have any questions regarding the Library’s Document Delivery service, ILLiad, or need assistance with research, contact your library liaison or call Interlibrary Services at 903.566.7396.