Skip to main content

Faculty Resources: Research

.

 


 

Contact:  

In Person:     Reference Desk, 2nd Floor

Email:            library@uttyler.edu

Call:               903.566.7343


 

Resources:  

 

  • SwoopSearch will search the materials and electronic resources available in our collections.

 

 

 

  • Use Research Guides by Subject to access the various subject-specific, or individualized course guides developed by the liaison librarians.

 

  • If you discover materials not available locally, UT Tyler students, faculty, and staff can request items through ILLiad, our Interlibrary Loan service.

 

.

 


 

 Anthropology, Communication, Criminal Justice, Education, Geography, History, Political Science, Pre-Law

Vicki Betts * vbetts@uttyler.edu * 903.566.7344


 

Art, Children's Literature, Languages, Literature, Music

Vandy Dubre * vdubre@uttyler.edu * 903.566.7167


 

Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Construction Management, Engineering, Geology, Math, Physics, Technology

Christine Forisha * cforisha@uttyler.edu * 903.565.5992


 

Business, Economics, Health Care Administration, HRD, Psychology, Public Administration, Sociology

Sarah Norrell * snorrell@uttyler.edu * 903.566.7472


 

Health, Kinesiology, Nursing

Suzanne Abbey * sabbey@uttyler.edu * 903.566.7165


 

Pharmacy

Rebecca Fernandez * rfernandez@uttyler.edu * 903.565.5614


 

Philosophy, Religious Studies, GATE

Alma Ravenell * aravenell@uttyler.edu * 903.566.7314

.

 


 

In addition to the numerous electronic general and subject-specific databases and journals listed under Research Support, the following special collections are available through our University Archives and Special Collections Department.
 

 

  • Scholar Works, is an institutional repository (IR) that brings together all of a University's research under one umbrella, with an aim to preserve and provide access to that research.

 

  • The University Archives materials document the teaching, research, administrative functions, and services of the University, from the inception of Tyler State College to the present University of Texas at Tyler. The UASC collects official archival records of the University, as stated in the Texas State Records Retention Schedule, and also those materials that represent the historical, cultural, and educational significance of UT Tyler. University Archives collections include (but are not limited to) the Marketing and Communications Records, the Board of Regents Records, and papers of the first President of the University, the James H. Stewart, Jr. Papers.

 

  • Special Collections at the UASC include manuscript collections, rare books, maps, paintings, and other materials that represent the history of the surrounding community. These materials serve to document the importance of the history and influence of Tyler and Smith County and, as appropriate, collections that may be national. They include the Sarah McClendon Papers, the Harold McKenzie Papers, the Billy Williamson Papers, and the Judge William Steger Papers. Through an agreement with the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC), the UASC also houses the records and papers of former Texas Lieutenant Governor Bill Ratliff. In addition, the Tim Anthony Jackson Collection is comprised of over 4,000 Presidential campaign memorabilia items ranging from 1884-2013.