Research Guides: Latin American History: Newspapers

UT-Tyler Subscription Databases

Anyone may use these databases *in* the library, but only currently enrolled students and currently employed faculty and staff may use them from off-site.

Historical Newspapers: Palmer's Index
Includes the index to London Times, 1790-1905 and full-text for 1800-1870. We are currently having a problem with online access, but content is still available on the 4th floor with printed indexes for 1790-2009 and microfilm for 1785-2009. Bring the microfilm to the main floor for assistance in free scanning and/or printing!
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the 19th century U.S.
WorldCat
To find which newspapers might be available on microfilm from a particular country, enter the name of the country, newspapers, and limit format to microfilm.
New York Times
To create your account.
Step 1: On campus or from the virtual desktop navigate to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
Step 2: Search for and click the listing for "University of Texas at Tyler"
Step 3: Click Create Account and complete registration fields

Existing New York Times ID
If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button) in Step 3.
A source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the US and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area.

Subscription Databases available elsewhere

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
"Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century." Available at Rice University Library.
LADB: Latin America Data Base
"One of the longest running premier news and educational services on Latin America, the LADB features three weekly publications: NotiCen , NotiSur , and SourceMex , and a fully searchable Archive that provide timely information and historical perspective on various Latin American issues." Available at Rice University.
Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922
Online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. From Argentina to Venezuela—titles from more than 20 countries in the region. Available at Baylor University, University of Texas at Austin, Southern Methodist University, and Texas A&M University.
World Newspaper Archive
Created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), the World Newspaper Archive provides access to historical (pre-1923) Latin American newspapers. Available at Texas A&M University.

Hemeroteca Digital de Chihuahua, 1994 to present. Contents of thirty-six newspapers and news magazines from Chihuahua, Ciudad Juarez, Ciudad Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City and El Paso, TX. Available at the University of Texas at Austin.

Finding Existing Microfilm

Interlibrary loan of newspapers on microfilm can be both slow and expensive. Many libraries do not lend out their microfilm. Once it arrives at the UT Tyler Library it often has to be used only within the building. We do offer free printing and equipment to save images to thumbdrive or to send home via email.

Newspapers in Microform: United States
Books--Ref. Z6945 .U4811 1973-1977, 1984 v.1-2. Listed by state, then town, then name of newspaper with surviving date range.

WorldCat
Just enter the name of the country or city in the first search box, and the word newspapers in the second search box, and make each a Subject. Not all libraries are consistent about using separate records for paper and microfilm, so you may not want to limit the format. Search. When the list comes up, click on Libraries Worldwide under the title that you want. That will tell you who holds the title, and sometimes what years. If they do not give the years you may have to go to each library's catalog to see what they have.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube