Research Guides: Latin American History: Databases

Key Periodical Databases--Available through UT Tyler or Free

JSTOR
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.
WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Be sure to limit Language to the ones you can read. At subtypes limit audience to Not Juvenile and content to Not Fiction. Results lists will highlight UT Tyler holdings, and other titles will offer a Borrow From Another Library link.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
Brings together a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
Fuente Académica Premier
A collection of multidisciplinary journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain providing coverage of Spanish-language scholarly content.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
A full-text collection of books, periodicals, and pamphlets published from 1543-1945, possibly the greatest single source for the study of international women's history and the feminist movement.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
Presenting a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture in its written form since colonial times until 1960.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2
Presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web)
"The Handbook is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. HLAS Web contains bibliographic records from volumes 47-71 of the Handbook of Latin American Studies. The database includes citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, maps, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. For Humanities, coverage includes: Art, History, Literature, Music, and Philosophy. For Social Sciences, coverage includes Archeology, Ethnology, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, International Relations, Political Economy, and Sociology."
Google Scholar
Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature from broad areas of research. Click on Settings, Library links, fill in University of Texas at Tyler, then Save to have UT Tyler resources automatically noted.
LatAm-Studies - Estudios Latinoamericanos
An open source online journal database. Contains thousands of studies and articles available in .pdf format that can be downloaded for teaching and research purposes.
Dialnet
A virtual library of Spanish academic journals, hosted by the University de la Rioja in Spain, with a growing number of fulltext articles. Coverage 1980-present.
Portal de Portales Latindex
Portal de Portales Latindex, provides access to the contents and full text documents from digital collections of scholalrly journals in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.

Additional Journal and Periodical Databases NOT Available at University of Texas at Tyler

Students working on theses may need to travel to larger universities to use databases in their libraries. In most cases, you will only need to provide photo ID and fill out a form to get access to a guest computer, or perhaps a temporary password for the day. Always check the library's webpage in advance to determine library hours and holidays, any special rules for visitors, and locations of guest parking. You may also want to take a look at football or basketball schedules to avoid traffic and parking issues.

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodical Index
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Also includes materials on Hispanics in the U.S. Available at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, University of Texas at Austin, and Rice University in Houston.
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library
The Oliveira Lima Library contains 2,800 pamphlets, and most relate specifically to Brazil. They are on Brazilian subjects, or their authors are Brazilian. Coverage: 1801-1983. University of Texas at Austin has a subscription.
Clase and Periodica
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. The combined database indexes over 2,600 scholarly journals in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. Available at Rice University and at Howard Payne University.
Classic Mexican Cinema Online
Covers the Golden Age of Mexican cinema, from the 1930s to 1960. It features popular film periodicals, such as Cinema Reporter and Cinema Mundial, together with lobby cards and the personal scrap book of filmmaker Fernando de Fuentes. Available at the University of Texas at Austin.
Human Rights Studies Online, 1900-2010
Provides access to primary and secondary materials (including 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video) on human rights issues in the 20th and early 21st centuries in Africa, Asia, Europe, United States, and Latin America. Subject coverage includes Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, Sierra Leone, and dirty wars in Latin America. Available at University of Texas at Austin and Baylor University
PRISMA
"PRISMA Database is a comprehensive reference resource providing 165 full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Articles in the PRISMA Database examine all aspects of Hispanic Studies—from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators to politics and society to Hispanic theatre. Coverage of subject areas is comprehensive and includes Anthropology, Business & Economics, History, Literature, Political Science and Sociology." Available at Texas A&M University.
Sabin Americana 1500-1926
Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 offers a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. Covering more than 400 years and more than 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, this easy-to-use digital collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of the time through sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, and more. Available at University of Texas at Arlington, University of Texas at Austin, Baylor University, Texas A&M University, and Rice.

If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...

At the Library homepage, click on the Journals tab. Change the Keyword to Title and enter the title of the journal (not the article) and see if the journal is available in any of our subscription databases or in the Library in physical form. Check to make sure your date is covered, then click on the database name, or make a note to come by the library. As more journal backfiles become available open access, you may want to do a Google search for the article to see if it will come up. If we don't have any direct access to the journal issue you need, please fill out an interlibrary loan request form.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube