Skip to main content

ENGL 4320- Romantic Period - French Revolution: Annotated Bibliographies

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents just like the bibliography at the end of a paper. However, the "annotated part, is followed a brief (in this case around 3 sentences) descriptive and evaluative paragraph to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. 

Annotated Bibliography Example

Glenarvon. Lady Caroline Lamb. 1816. 

This thinly-veiled roman à clef was one of the most famous fictions written with Byron in mind as the antagonist. Byron serves as material for both the suave, aristocratic Glenarvon and the depraved, murderous Viviani, with Caroline Lamb as Calantha and her husband, William Lamb, sentimentalized as Lord Avondale. Byron read the text and quipped: "If the authoress had written the truth, and nothing but the truththe whole truththe romance would not only have been more romantic, but more entertaining. As for the likeness, the picture can't be goodI did not sit long enough" (Letter to Thomas More, BLJ Dec. 5 th, 1816 [V, 131]). James L. Ruff, the editor of the 1972 edition, says the antagonist "tends to incarnate the more extreme elements of Byronism, and is a melancholy, brooding, guilt-haunted, self-dramatizing villain. Missing are all the manly qualities of Byron, his warmth, generosity, and especially the marvelous sense of humor which balanced his darker side" (vii-viii).

Annotated Bibliographies

Purdue OWL-

     ⇒this page shows you sample annotations. Scroll down for the APA                   format example.

Cornell University- Annotated Bibliographies-

     ⇒a How-To for creating an annotated bibliography including examples as          well as further explanations on the process.