Skip to main content

Finding Survey Instruments and Questionnaires: Finding Article Full Text

Obtaining Article Full Text for a HaPI Citation

HaPI is not a full text database. Almost every instrument record in the database has an embedded Borrow from Another Library link associated with it. 

This does not necessarily mean, however, that the item in question is not full text accessible through another database subscribed by Muntz Library. 

Before submitting an ILLIAD request for the article, its worth searching Journals by Title first.

To perform a Journals by Title search,

1)  Locate and note the citation information for the article you are seeking

2) Navigate to the UT Tyler Library main page

3) Find and click the Journals by Title link (5th link from the top of the list of links at the bottom of the page)

4) In Advanced Search

a) Select the Journals Only limiter (beneath the search box)

b) Enter the title of the journal you seek in the search box 

c) Click the Search button to perform the search.

i. If the search returns the message, "Sorry, this search returned no results," proceed with an ILLIAD request (we do not have full text access to the journal). 

5) If the search returns a result, scroll through the results list and locate your journal title (if available)

6) Note the full text options and years of coverage (do they cover the publication date of your article?)

7) Click the link matching your coverage requirements

8) Select the volume link matching the volume of your article

9) Locate and select the issue link (or publication date) corresponding to the issue of your article

10) Scroll through the issue contents and locate your article by title (or page numbers)

Note: Remember, the articles to which HaPI references refer seldom if ever contain the full text of the instruments they describe. To locate instrument full text, you will need to consult resources like PsycTESTS, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, and Google.

However, you may still wish to obtain the full text of HaPI Primary Source articles since these frequently contain information regarding psychometric testing of the instruments.

HaPI Guide Page Index