Skip to main content

European History From the French Revolution: Microform Collections

Microform Collections

Through the years the Robert R. Muntz Library has purchased a number of microfiche, ultrafiche, and microfilm collections of historical primary documents. They are housed in cabinets on the 2nd (main) floor of the library, along the far wall behind the history reference books. Machines for reading, saving to thumbdrive, and printing these documents to paper are at the other end of the same wall. All printing from microfilm and fiche is free to all students, faculty, and visitors. Please ask the person at reference for assistance.

Collections include:

Library of American Civilization--This collection contains material relating to all aspects of American life, from the country's earliest days to the start of World War I. The majority of items were published before 1914. The collection contains many rare and out of print books and and material of foreign origin relating to America. All titles are in the library catalog with a call number beginning LAC. Bound indexes available on top of the cabinet. See below for a website with links to online versions of these documents.  Many of these titles are now available on Google Books.

American Culture Series II--5,600 titles representing what are considered to be fundamental research materials in interdisciplinary American Studies curricula, covering 1493-1875.  All titles are in the Muntz Catalog with a call number beginning Am.Cul.II.  Many of these titles are now available on Google Books.

Texas as Province and Republic, 1795-1845. 39 reels. Indexed in Streeter Bibliography, Ref. Z1339.S8 1983. All known Texas, Mexican, U.S., and European imprints related to Texas published between 1795 and 1845. See below for a link to a discussion of the bibliography which includes a copy of the bibliography only, not the documents.

Records of the Field Offices for the State of Texas, Bureau of Refugees, Freeemen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1870. Two reels of microfilm on the 2nd floor of the library, E185.93 .T4 R43, reel 26-27, includes Seguin, Sterling, Sumpter, Tyler, and Waco.

Books for College Libraries--Core collection of books that should be in every academic library. All titles are in the library catalog with a call number beginning BCL. The Muntz Library may or may not have paper copies of these books.

Foreign Relations of the United States, 1861-1956

Vienna Congress, 1814-1815

PCMI (Photo Chromic Micro Image) ultrafiche--A broad range of books and documents. Most titles are in the library catalog with a call number beginning PCMI.

Session Laws--American States and Territories--Texas. Fiche version of Gammel's Laws now available online from the University of North Texas.

Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression--Folder available on top of the cabinet.

Nuremburg Trials (Blue and Green series)--Folders available on top of the cabinet.

British and Foreign State Papers--Folder available on top of the cabinet.

British Parliamentary Debates

U.S. State Department Bulletin

Historical Trials

Legislative History, PL 82-9 through PL 92-603

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Germany: Internal Affairs, 1930-1941. DD234.A3 G47 1984. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records. Russia and the Soviet Union. DK266.A3 C667 1914-1918. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

New York Times Oral History Project. Columbia University Collection. 29 rolls. Book on top of the cabinet.

U.S. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. Records of the Field Office. Tyler, Texas. E185.93.T4 R43.

Daniel Webster Papers. E337.8 .W3 1971x.

Translations of Statistical and Census Reports of Texas, 1792-1836, and Sources Documenting the Black in Texas, 1603-1803.

OSS/State Dept. Intelligence and Research Reports. Germany and its Occupied Territories During World War II. HV7568 .O8. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

OSS/State Dept. Intelligence and Research Reports. Postwar Europe. HV7568 .O8. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

Potsdam Conferrence Documents. J82.D71 P6. Booklet on top of the cabinet.

Presidential Election of 1900 ... 1968. JK524 .P7.

John F. Kennedy memorial Collection.

LBJ Clip File (Houston, TX). Roll #009.

League of Nations. Serial Publications, 1919-1946.  Book indexes.

 

  

Microfilm and Microfiche sets on the Main Floor

Look for these sets in the metal cabinets against the south wall beyond the reference shelves, up toward the Interlibrary Loan office:

British Foreign and State Papers.

British Parliamentary Debates.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records--Russia:  From Czar to Commissars, 1914-1918.  10 reels.  Print index.

Confidential U.S. State Department.  Central Files--Germany Internal Affairs, 1930-1941.  59 reels.  Print index.

Documents on British Foreign Policy, 1919-1939.  Print index.

League of Nations Papers.  Microfilm.

Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression.  Microfiche.

O.S.S./State Department Intelligence and Research Reports.  Postwar Europe.  10 reels.

O.S.S./State Department Intelligence and Research Reports.  Germany and Its Occupied Territories During World War II.  22 reels.  Print index.

Trials of War Criminals Before the Nurenberg Military Tribunals.