Skip to main content

European History From the French Revolution: Web Resources

International

Great Britain

Eurodocs:  Britain, 1816-1918 --Extensive list of links, including Treasures of the [British] National Archives, Cabinet Papers, Hansard [Parliamentary Debates]; Proceedings of the Old Bailey Online, History of the Workhouse, Crystal Palace, British Documents on the Orgins of the War (World War I), The First World War: Sources for History, Documents of the Interwar Period.

Eurodocs:  Britain, 1919 to the present  --Another list of links, including British War Blue Book on outbreak of war in 1939, the French Yellow Book, Crisis over Czechoslovakia 1938, Neville Chamberlain speeches, emergence of Anglo-American alliance, uneasy alliance between Britain and USSR during World War II, Battle of Britain, Archives Normandie 1939-1945, the Brlitish home front, M15 documents regarding British traitors, double agents, and Nazi spies; Margaret Thatcher Doundation.

Best of History Websites--Modern Britain

British History Online--"Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.  Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research."

The National Archives (United Kingdom)--Online Records. --Over 5% of the National Archives' records have been digitised.  This list includes archives records digitized by partners.

British Cabinet Papers, 1915-1981

British Cartoon Archive --Documents the history of British cartooning over the past 200 years.

British Diplomatic Oral History Programme --Interviews with former diplomats or other officials who have played a significant role in events bearing on international relations.

Colonial Film:  Moving Images of the British Empire --Over 6,000 films cataloged, over 150 films available for viewing online.

Margaret Thatcher Foundation --Documents, speeches, interviews, multimedia, chronology, and commentary

Great War Archive --Over 6,500 items contributed by the general public between March and June 2008, including diaries, interviews, letters, and memoirs.

The Serving Soldier --Documents and photographs held by the Liddell Hart Centre for Military Archives at King's College London, covers the lives of soldiers from 1899 to 1918 and spanning the Second Boer War, Younghusband Expedition and World War I.

The Stormont Papers  --Northern Ireland Parliamentary Debates Online, 1921-1972.

War Memorials Archive  --Online database of war memorials located throughout the United Kingdom, Channel Islands and Isle of Man; memorials commemorating all wars, varying from familiar community crosses and statues to less common memorials like bus shelters, sundials, park benches, and even an island.  British "war memory."

Victorian Web --Over 60,000 documents concentrating on Great Britain in the age of Victoria (1837-1901).

British Pathé Film Archives--Newsreels from around the world, including Texas.  See coverage of the New London School Explosion as well as various floods, hurricanes, tornadoes, prison rodeos, malaria control, etc.

Interpreting the Irish Famine, 1846-1850 (University of Virginia)

Scottish Archive Network Digital Archive --Exhibitions, emigration records, virtual vault (images of Scottish historical records), local history week.

Digital Archive--National Library of Scotland

Am Baile--Highland History & Culture  --History and culture of the Scottish Highlands and Islands--photographs, illustrations, rare books, documents, short films, audio clips, interactive games, comics.

France

European History Primary Sources--France --Includes access to 65 websites, but only 14 are in English.

Germany

German History in Documents and Images--"A comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present.  It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery."

European History Primary Sources--Germany  --Of 100 linked websites, 20 are in English.

Europeana, 1914-1918 -- Collecting pictures, letters, postcards, souvenirs and other items from across Europe relating to World War I.

Before the Holocaust:  Concentration Camps in Nazi Germany, 1933-1939

Holocaust Rescue and Relief --Digitized Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee.

Avalon Project:  The International Military Tribunal for Germany --Nuremberg Trials Collection and Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression, with additional documents.

Germany Under Reconstruction  --Provides a varied selection of publications in both English and German from the period immediately following World War II.


German and Nazi Propaganda  Archive of Nazi propaganda of various types through 1945, and East German Marxist propaganda through 1989, from Calvin College, Grand Rapids, MI.  In English.

Eastern Europe

Russia/Soviet Union

Lenin Internet Archive

Trotsky Internet Archive

Stalin Internet Archive

Russian Revolution in Modern History Sourcebook (Fordham University)

Revelations from the Rusian Archives (Library of Congress)--deals with Stalinism

REESWeb (University of Pittsburgh)--The world wide web virtual library for Russian and Eastern European Studies