Research Guides: European History From the French Revolution: Databases

Key History Databases

Historical Abstracts
Indexing and abstracting for periodicals and dissertations on all *except* US and Canadian history. Covers 1450 to present, published since 1955. Many links to full text.
Academic Search Complete
Large scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database containing over 5300 journal titles, about half with full image and/or full text articles. Most indexing dates back to 1993, and most full text only goes back to 1998.
JSTOR
A full-image collection of the back issues of over 1100 scholarly journals representing most major academic disciplines including 300 of the top journals in history. Access from first issue to within 3-5 years of present (embargo). This will get you back past where Historical Abstracts and Academic Search Complete begin.

Additional Journal and Periodical Databases

British Periodicals
Access to hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth; topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Periodicals Archive Online
Covers almost 800 fulltext journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences published from 1770 to the present.
Project Muse
Over 100 full-text journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, over 40 of them in history. None of the holdings are older than 1995, some only back to 2000.
Google Scholar
Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research. Click on Scholar Preferences, go down to Library Links, fill in University of Texas at Tyler, then Find Library. Check box.
Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online
Includes primary source material published from 1543-1945, possibly the greatest single source for the study of international women's history and the feminist movement. Includes books and periodicals.

History Databases Not Fully Indexed in SwoopSearch

The following History-related databases are not fully indexed in SwoopSearch, our comprehensive database search. You will need to search these separately:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (SwoopSearch indexes some but not all, and doesn't include full-text)

Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online

Periodicals Archive Online (full image journal articles)

Printed Periodical Indexes

Yes, there was life before computers! We still have the old printed journal indexes which are useful for earlier time periods. For example, if you are looking for public reaction to the blitz in Great Britain, check Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature for 1940-1941. These indexes are now on the 4th floor of the Robert R. Muntz Library in the Periodicals Room.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-2001). Index AI3 .R47.

Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide (1890-1899). Index AI3 .R47.

Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History, 1838-1974. Index Z6205 .C18.

Humanities Index (1974-1996). Index AI3 .H35.

Social Science and Humanities Index (1955-1974). Index AI3 .R49.

International Index to Periodicals. (1907-1965). Index AI3 .R49.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906). Ref. AI3 .P7 1938.

European History From the French Revolution

If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...

Key History Databases

Additional Journal and Periodical Databases

History Databases Not Fully Indexed in SwoopSearch

Printed Periodical Indexes

Journals Available Through the UT-Tyler Library, by Field


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube