Skip to main content

LGBTQ Resources: Home

LGBTQ Programs and Archival Resources in Texas

This handout was distributed at the East Texas Historical Association Meeting, Nacogdoches, Texas, September 28, 2012.

Programs and Resources:

Rice University, Center for the Study of Women, Gender, and  Sexuality

Texas A&M University, Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Resource Center The GLBT Resource Center is a resource and referral center for gay, lesbian, bixesual, and transgender Aggies and their straight supporters.

University of Houston, Minor in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender (GLBT) Studies

University of North Texas.  Minor in LGBT Studies.

University of Texas, GLBTQ/Sexualities Research Cluster.  LGBTQ/Sexualities Research Cluster brings together faculty, graduate students and undergraduates from across campus to share research in feminist and queer studies. 

Archival Resources:

Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO) lists archival collections pertaining to LGBT history

Austin History Center, Austin Public Library.  Janna Zumbrun Papers.

AIDS Services of Austin Records

The Houston Area Rainbow Collective History (Houston ARCH)

Houston Metropolitan Research Center, Houston Public Library.  Log Cabin Republicans of Houston Collection.

Texas State Library and Archives.  Governor George W. Bush Correspondence/Constituent Services Office.

University of Houston, University of Houston Libraries, Special Collections.  Josephine Harris Stewart Papers, 1920-2000.

Hazelwitch Productions, Inc. Records, 1981-1998.

University of North Texas, University of North Texas Libraries.  Acquired the archive of the Dallas Voice, dating back to 1984.  It is the first newspaper to represent and serve the Dallas, Texa, LGBT community.  Physical issues of the Dallas Voice arearchived at the University of North Texas Libraries, out of their Archives division.  Digitized copies of the Dallas Voice are on Portal to Texas History.

Resource Center Dallas LGBT Collection of the UNT Libraries.  Acquired the Resource Center Dallas archives, 400 linear feet.  Now largely digitized on Portal to Texas History.

University of Texas.  University of Texas Libraries.  Black Queer Studies Collection.

Dennis Medina Collection Relating to Gay Hispanics, 1979-1986.

University of Texas, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History.  Texas Human Rights Foundation Records, 1978-1992.

AIDS Collection

University of Texas, The Nettie Lee Benson Library, Latin American Collection.  National Latino/a Lesbian and Gay Organization (LLEGO) Records, 1987-2004.

Gloria Evangelina Anzaldua Papers, 1942-2004

University of Texas San Antonio, UTSA Libraries.  San Antonio Lesbian Gay Assembly (SALGA) Records, 1990-1998

A Guide to the Lollie Johnson Papers, 1940-2002

Texas Lesbian Conference Records, 1986-1994

Linda and Cynthia Phillips Papers, 1964-2000

Lesbian Issues Collection, 1975-1991