Skip to main content

American South: HIST 4322: Collected Sets

The Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving

The Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving offers:

  • Searchable databases of references to approximately 25,000 scholarly works.
  • Slavery/slaving, worldwide, historical and modern.
  • All academic disciplines, all western European languages.
  • All known print materials published since 1900 in scholarly formats.
  • Includes books, scholarly journals (print and digital), recent conference presentations, professional historical sites, major museum exhibitions and catalogs.
  • Note: the UT Tyler Library may not necessarily own all the sources referenced in this bibliography.


For example, a keyword search for Texas pulls up 130 results, including presentations, articles, meetings, theses, and books.  You would then need to search the library catalog, our databases, and WorldCat to find or locate copies of the actual items.

Microfilm and Microfiche

Civil War Unit Histories:  Regimental Histories and Personal Narratives.  Over 6,000 fiche.  Available at UNT, UT Arlington, UT Austin, Texas State Library and Archives.

Confederate Military Manuscripts.  Series C:  Holdings of the Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin.  Part 1:  The Trans-Mississippi West.  25 reels.  Held by Dallas Public Library, Houston Public Library, University of Houston, UT Austin.

Records of U. S. Colored Troops:  Letters Related to Recruitment of African Americans, 1863-1865.  17 reels.  Available at Texas Southern University.

Race, Slavery and Free Blacks:  Petitions to Southern Legislatures, 1777-1867.  3 reels.  Available at University of Texas at Austin Library.

Race, Slavery and Free Blacks:  Petitions to Southern County Courts, 1777-1867.  9 reels.  Available at University of Texas at Austin Library.

Slavery in Ante-Bellum Southern Industries.  28 reels.  Available at University of Texas at Austin Library.

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution Through the Civil War.  Ongoing project, with 845 reels of diaries, letters, and accounts. Series A-J, L-N--Available at University of Texas at Austin Library.

American Women's Diaries:  Southern Women's Diaries--32 diaries on 34 reels, gathered from 12 southern universities and historical societies.  Life in the South before, during and after the Civil War and leading up to World War I.  Available at Sam Houston State University.

Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century, Papers and Diaries.  Series F--Holdings of the Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin, 31 reels.--Available at Texas A&M University Library.  Series A, D, E, F, and G--Available at University of Texas at Austin Library. 

New England Women and Their Families in the 18th and 19th Centuries:  Personal Papers, Letters and Diaries.  8 reels.  Available at the University of Texas at Austin Library.

Photographic History of the Civil War.  10 vols.  Originally published 1911-1912.  LAC 23146-23150.  2nd floor of UT Tyler Library along back wall.

 

 

 

Books

Southern Historical Society Papers.  52 volumes originally published between 1876 and 1943.  Available at Stephen F. Austin State University, Texas A&M at Commerce, Sam Houston State University, University of North Texas, Texas A&M, and UT-Austin.  Some of these volumes are available in Google Books.