Skip to main content

American South: HIST 4322: Newspapers

UT-Tyler Subscription Databases

Anyone may use these databases *in* the library, but only currently enrolled students and currently employed faculty and staff may use them from off-site.

Newspapers on Microfilm at UT-Tyler

Of these, only the Houston Telegraph, the New York Times and the London Times have online subscription indexes available at UT Tyler. 

UT Tyler Library offers free microfilm-to-paper as well as microfilm-to-thumbdrive capability on the second and fourth floors.  Please ask for assistance.

Austin, TX State Gazette, 1855-1864
Weekly Gazette, 1864-1878
Galveston, TX Galveston News, 1860-1866
Galveston Tri-Weekly News, 1860-1861, 1863-1872
Houston, TX Houston Tri-WeeklyTelegraph, 1856-1870
Houston Tri-Weekly Telegraph, 1856-1870
London, England Times, 1785-2003
Marshall, TX Harrison Flag, 1858-1861; 1865-1868
New York, NY New York Times, 1857-2004
San Antonio, TX San Antonio Zeitung, 1853-1856
San Antonio Herald, 1857-1859
Tyler, TX Tyler Reporter, 1855, 1859, 1861, 1862, 1864

Free Newspaper Databases on the Internet

Free newspaper databases are often the efforts of individual local, state, and university libraries and archives, and because of that, coverage and quality of both images and indexing, if any, vary widely. 

Subscription Databases available elsewhere

While database contracts do not allow off-site access to non-subscribers, most libraries will allow visitors to use their databases on-site.  They may have open computers in the reference area or they may require a registration process to obtain temporary passwords.  Printing and download processes may vary, but most databases allow email of articles to a distant computer.  Click on the "i" for some locations within the state.  Contact host libraries before making the trip to check accessibility.

Finding Existing Microfilm

Interlibrary loan of newspapers on microfilm can be both slow and expensive.  Many libraries do not lend out their microfilm.  Once it arrives at the UT Tyler Library it often has to be used only within the building.  We do offer free printing and equipment to save images to thumbdrive, as well as viewers.

UT Austin card index to Texas newspapers

During the Great Depression, employees of the Works Progress Administration indexed thirty selected Texas newspapers for the years 1829-1936.  Unfortunately, most of the headings are for proper names rather than subjects.  Included are: 

Abilene Daily Reporter
Alpine Avalanche
Commerce Journal
Dallas Daily News
Dallas Herald
Denison Gazette
Denison Herald
Denison Daily News
El Paso Herald
Free Press (San Antonio)
Ft. Worth Democrat
Ft. Worth Record
Ft. Worth Gazette
Houston Daily Telegraph
Houston Republic
Jacksboro Echo
Northern Standard (Clarksville)
La Prensa (San Antonio)
San Antonio Express
San Antonio Light
San Antonio Evening News
Sherman Courier
Sweetwater Daily Reporter
Telegraph & Texas Register (Houston)
Texas National Register (Washington)
Texas Sentinel (Austin)
Texas State Gazette (Austin)
Whitesboro News
Whitewright Sun
Wichita Daily Times. 

This is an old-fashioned card file, held only at the Center for American History on the UT-Austin Campus.  You may contact the reference staff to make photocopies of specific cards for you, for a fee.  They aren't particularly fast in getting back with you, just from my personal experience.  If you've got friends in Austin, see if they will go do it for you.