Skip to main content

Children's Literature: Bibliographies

This is the research guide for Children's Literature.

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents just like the bibliography at the end of a paper. However, the "annotated part, is followed a brief (in this case around 3 sentences) descriptive and evaluative paragraph to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. For children's literature, comments on the illustrations, reading level, interest level, awards won, concerns or cautions, and possible classroom uses are included in the annotation. 

APA Citations for Children's Books

Citing children's books is more complex than citing a regular book. The most common problem is acknowledging the illustrator. This is very important in children's lit. The APA 6th Publication Manual does not include specific examples for including illustrators. 

However, the APA Citation Blog states, 

Annotated Bibliographies

Purdue OWL-

     ⇒this page shows you sample annotations. Scroll down for the APA                   format example.

Cornell University- Annotated Bibliographies-

     ⇒a How-To for creating an annotated bibliography including examples as          well as further explanations on the process.

Annotated Bibliography Example

Andreae, Giles & Cabban, V. (2002). There's a House inside my Mommy. Morton Grove, Ill: Whitman.

Through its easy-to-read, rhyming text and colorful drawings depicting a loving, growing family, There’s a House Inside My Mommy addresses the natural curiosity an older toddler/young preschooler might have when mom is expecting a new baby. The book’s illustrations portray a loving, child-centered family with equal involvement from both mom and dad. The story addresses the physical changes a sibling-to-be might notice during mom’s pregnancy, while reassuring the child that s/he will continue to be just as special to mom and dad as s/he already is. Because this book does not discuss or picture the actual birth setting, family sleeping arrangements or infant feeding methods, it is suitable for a wide variety of families.