Skip to main content
The University of Texas at Tyler Libraries
A centerpiece for learning,

culture and natural beauty

History (General): Home

Introduction to basic resources available to UT-Tyler students and faculty


Hello! Welcome to the History (General)  research guide at the UT Tyler Library.

This guide is designed to inform you about resources for your studies in all aspects of History.  There are also specialized research guides for

African American History,

American Civil War,

American South:  HIST 4322,

Antebellum America ("The Age of Jackson")--Primary Sources,

Britain and its Empire--17th Century,

Community History,

European History from the French Revolution,

Reconstruction, 1865-1877,

Tudor England.


Library Hours

Fall & Spring
Mo - Th   7:30am - midnight
Fr   7:30am - midnight
Sa   9:00am - 6pm
Su   1:00pm - midnight
Mo - Th   7:30am - 10:00pm
Fr   7:30am - 5:00 pm
Sa   9:00am - 6:00pm
Su   1:00pm - 10:00pm
Special or holiday hours.

Quick Guide Rundown

Here is some of what you'll find in this guide:

Databases - links to scholarly history databases, such as Academic Search Complete, America:  History and Life, Historical Abstracts, and JSTOR, among others.

Books - links to find books & other monographic works, whether in the Library, in databases, or beyond.

Web Resources - links to state historical documents, federal documents, historic census information, and international documents.

Newspapers - links to historic newspapers online as well as a list of our historic newspapers on microfilm.

Book Reviews - links to book review sources and places to find information about authors.

Theses and Dissertations - where to find full-text dissertations and theses, as well as citations.  Also a list of all of the history theses produced at The University of Texas at Tyler.

Maps and Atlases - links to databases and collections with historic maps, and locations of maps and atlases at Muntz Library.

Microform Collections - information on Microform sets in the Muntz Library.

Archives - information on UT Tyler's University Archives and Special Collections.

Need Help? - information on contacting us, troubleshooting off campus access, the Writing Center, and interlibrary loan.

Other - (explain what is on this tab and set link.)

Getting Started

1.  For books that you can check out today, go to the Library Catalog.

2.  For books that the UT Tyler Library does not own, go to WorldCat and then Request from Another Library.

3.  For articles published after 1960, go to America:  History & Life or Historical Abstracts, depending on your geographic area.

4.  For articles published before 1960, go to JSTOR.

Everything after that will take a "decent" paper to "outstanding"!

Citation and Writing Help

Citation Guide--Turabian

Citation Guide--Chicago Manual of Style.

Zotero -- Download this free program and build your bibliography as you research, create folders for different projects, set it to produce a bibliography in Turabian or Chicago Manual of Style, and produce a bibliography that just needs to be proofread for details.  Here's a research guide for step-by-step instructions.

UT Tyler Writing Center
Take advantage of free tutors to help you with the writing process.  Make an appointment and bring your assignment and what you have done so far.  MTuWeTh 9-6, and Fri 9-3.  During the spring and fall semesters they also keep hours on the 2nd floor of the library near the front door, TuWTh 8-10 p.m., beginning on the second or third week of the semester.

Tools of the Trade

Historical Associations


Vicki Betts
Robert R. Muntz Library
Office #209
Website / Blog Page

Introduction Video

Library Information

Muntz Library

The University of Texas at Tyler

3900 University Blvd

Tyler, TX 75799    

Circulation P: 903.566.7342

Reference P: 903.566.7343    


Web: Library Website

Mobile Web: Library Mobile Site

Connect with us!


      facebook    twitter    blogspot    youtube