Hello! Welcome to the General Business research guide at the UT Tyler library.
This guide is designed to inform you about resources for your studies in all aspects of general business.
Please be aware that some links in this guide will link out to other UT Tyler guides, databases, and other Internet sources in new browser tabs.
|Fall & Spring|
|Mo - Th||7:30am - midnight|
|Fr||7:30am - midnight|
|Sa||9:00am - 6pm|
|Su||1:00pm - midnight|
|Mo - Th||7:30am - 10:00pm|
|Fr||7:30am - 5:00 pm|
|Sa||9:00am - 6:00pm|
|Su||1:00pm - 10:00pm|
|Special or holiday hours.|
Here is some of what you'll find in this guide:
Databases - How to search for articles, Access to databases, List of best journals
Books - How to search for books, How to use ebooks
Web Resources - Lists of websites, How to evaluate websites
Additional Resources - Information about companies, DataMonitor/MarketLine reports, futures and options, global trade and finance, industries, insurance, mutual funds, stocks and bonds, real estate; Citation guide; How to use interlibrary loan
Data & Statistics - Access to data sources, Quantitative vs. qualitative research
For Faculty - Library services for faculty
Courses - Current and archived courses having library instruction
! UPDATE !
We now have access to RKMA's handbooks for marketing and business research!
RKMA's handbooks are a valuable resource for finance, marketing, and business information. Using the link below, you can access the following titles: Business-to-Business Marketing; Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing; Entertainment, Media, & Advertising Market Research; Healthcare Business Market Research; International Consumer Markets; Leisure Market Research; Restaurant, Food, & Beverage Market Research; Retail Business Market Research; Sports Marketing; Travel & Tourism Market Research.
! UPDATE !
We now have access to the excellent IBISWorld database. This is a premier database containing detailed industry reports.
If you're looking for industry data, click the link below to visit the newly-updated "Industries" section of this guide. On there, you'll find several "How to" documents I've written to help you locate industry and industry-related information using the IBISWorld, Business Source Complete, Mergent Online, and LexisNexis databases.
! UPDATE !
We now have access to D&B Private Company database via Mergent Online. This feature contains data for private companies.
If you're looking for private company data, click the link below to visit the newly-updated "Companies" section of this guide. On there, you'll see how to use the Mergent database to access private company data.
Generally, business often includes in various ways the production, supply, and demand of goods and services for consumption. Examples of businesses might be banking institutions, retail stores, manufacturing plants, real estate companies, restaurants, universities, and more. Basically, any enterprise that conducts regular transactions and exchanges where goods, services, and funds are involved may be classified as a business.
Some businesses are privately owned or publically traded. Activities in these businesses are motivated by increasing profits for the owners and/or stakeholders. Others businesess are non-profit, driven instead by meeting certain social goals or supporting agendas that are less concerned with generating personal or company wealth and more focused on a larger objective.
The administrative and management side of business deals with organizing, overseeing, and directing a company towards meeting its needs and objectives. Business administrators and managers must be able to produce success by effectively working with their employees, stakeholders, vendors, customers, and other interested parties.
Business administrators and managers act as leaders of a company and/or departments within a company. They must manage and allocate available limited resources in the most effective manner possible. They must anticipate and plan for local, national, and international economic change. They must be knowledgable in organizational, informational, systemic workflows.
You can read more about occupations related to business in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Handbook for Business and Financial Occupations.
If you'd like to set up an appointment with me to talk about your assignments, send me an e-mail. Let me know what the assignment is about, what research you've done thus far, and any other related information.
I will be glad to help you with using the databases, looking for books, brainstorming ideas, citing sources, and related tasks. However, I can't help you write your paper, do your statistics, or complete any of your homework assignments.
Remember, any of the Reference staff at our library can assist you with the basics of research help, but if you need assistance with business specifically, please feel free to let me know!
SUN = none
MON = by appointment
TUE = by appointment
WED = by appointment
THU = by appointment
FRI = none
SAT = none