CPA ExamGAAPCitation GuideInterlibrary Loan
This is the "Home" page of the "Accounting & Finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Research guide for accounting and finance.
Last Updated: Jul 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uttyler.edu/acctfin Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Hello! Welcome to the Accounting & Finance research guide at the UT Tyler library.

This guide is designed to inform you about resources for your studies in all aspects of accounting and finance.

Please be aware that some links in this guide will link out to other UT Tyler guides, databases, and other Internet sources in new browser tabs.

 

Department information

College of Business and Technology (CBT)

     P: 903-566-7360

     E: CBTinfo@uttyler.edu


CBT is divided into three departments. Of immediate interest to you will be:

     Department of Accounting, Finance, & Business Law

          P: 903-566-7360

          E: cbtadvising@uttyler.edu

UT Tyler student organizations

If you are interested in accounting and finance, here is an alphabetical list of UT Tyler student organizations you may consider.

Joining would be a great chance to meet other students on campus and get involved in your field of study.

RKMA handbooks

! UPDATE !

We now have access to RKMA's handbooks for marketing and business research!

RKMA's handbooks are a valuable resource for finance, marketing, and business information. Using the link below, you can access the following titles: Business-to-Business Marketing; Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing; Entertainment, Media, & Advertising Market Research; Healthcare Business Market Research; International Consumer Markets; Leisure Market Research; Restaurant, Food, & Beverage Market Research; Retail Business Market Research; Sports Marketing; Travel & Tourism Market Research.

Looking for industry data?

! UPDATE !

We now have access to the excellent IBISWorld database. This is a premier database containing detailed industry reports.

If you're looking for industry data, click the link below to visit the newly-updated "Industries" section of the General Business research guide. On there, you'll find several "How to" documents I've written to help you locate industry and industry-related information using the IBISWorld, Business Source Complete, Mergent Online, and LexisNexis databases.

What are accounting and finance?

The disciplines of accounting and finance are related to each other, but are very different.

Accounting deals mainly with the rules, procedures, and processes of financial accountability. The Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) is a benchmark publication that outlines the standards and practices of creating, maintaining, and auditing financial records. Accountants regularly engage in report reconciliation, itemization, invoicing, tax preparation, payment processing, and other financial matters necessary for business operations.

Finance deals mainly with understanding, analyzing, and managing cash flows, credit markets, investments, and other financial assets. People who study finance examine the monetary resources and profitability of a business with a keen eye towards future financial returns and forecasting. People in finance frequently engage with banks, creditors, shareholders, government agencies, donors, and others who have a financial relationship with a business.


You can read some job descriptions that are available to people in accounting and finance by clicking the links below. These have been taken from the Occupational Outlook Handbook provided by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

 

Need an appointment?

If you'd like to set up an appointment with me to talk about your assignments, send me an e-mail. Let me know what the assignment is about, what research you've done thus far, and any other related information.

I will be glad to help you with using the databases, looking for books, brainstorming ideas, citing sources, and related tasks. However, I can't help you write your paper, do your statistics, or complete any of your homework assignments.

For writing help, you can contact the Writing Center. For statistics tutoring, you can contact the Department of Mathematics

Remember, any of the Reference staff at our library can assist you with the basics of research help, but if you need assistance with accounting or finance specifically, please feel free to let me know!


SUMMER 2014 Office Hours

SUN = n/a

MON = by appointment

TUE = by appointment

WED = by appointment

THU = by appointment

FRI = n/a

SAT = n/a

Research Librarian

Profile Image
Spencer Acadia, Ph.D.
Logo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
E-mail: sacadia@uttyler.edu
Office location: Muntz Library, 2nd floor, #221
Send Email
 

Connect with us!

FOLLOW THE LIBRARY!

      facebook    twitter    blogspot    youtube

 

Library information

Muntz Library

University of Texas at Tyler

3900 University Blvd.

Tyler, TX 75799

     Circulation P: 903-566-7342

     Reference P: 903-566-7343

     E: library@uttyler.edu


Web: Library Website 

Mobile Web: Library Mobile Site

 

Comments & suggestions

Feel free to tell me what you like and don't like about this research guide.

Also, if you've found this guide to be helpful to you, please let me know!

Send me an email: sacadia@uttyler.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip