What it is...
My EBSCOhost is a personal vendor account you can set up.
What it does...
A My EBSCOhost account allows you to:
• Customize and permanently save Result Display Settings
• Save citations to personal research folders within the database
• Share research folders with others (collaborative projects)
• View other's folders
• Preserve useful search strategies
• Create Search Alerts to stay current with research in specified fields
• Download EBSCO ebook pdfs for short term offline loans
You can access My EBSCOhost from any EBSCO database¹ and save citations from any EBSCO database to folders within your My EBSCOhost account.
¹ Any EBSCO database to which UT Tyler has current subscription access.
Benefits of having an Account
• An option for saving article references and full text links (citation managers like Zotero, Mendeley, etc. do this as well).
• Easy to share EBSCO-derived file content with members of a project group.
• Handy for preserving effective database search strategies for future reference.
• Necessary to access EBSCO ebook content offline.
• Search Alerts! - an account allows you to create search alerts that re-run saved searches, allowing you to update bibliographies for long-term projects.
Downsides of My EBSCOhost
• Vendor-specific product tied to institutional subscription.
1. Can't save searches or records from non-EBSCO databases to your account.
2. Tied to institutional affiliation.
a. If you cease to be affiliated with an EBSCO-subscribing institution, you lose access to your account & content.
• Limited record processing functionality in comparison to a citation manager.
1. Can't create batch bibliographies or in text citations (Zotero, Mendely & other citation managers do).
Most beneficial for students...
• in group project work,
• doing long-term projects (thesis/dissertation studies),
• needing offline access to EBSCO ebook content.