Skip to main content

EDSP 5370: Home

Book Lists

This box contains lists of books in the children's lit collection at the Muntz Library, that you would not be able to find through the library catalogue. 

Library Hours

Fall & Spring
Mo - Th   7:30am - 2:00am
Fr   7:30am - 5pm
Sa   9:00am - 6pm
Su   1:00pm - 2:00am
     
Summer
Mo - Th   7:30am - 10:00pm
Fr   7:30am - 5:00 pm
Sa   9:00am - 6:00pm
Su   1:00pm - 10:00pm
     
Special or holiday hours.

Quick Guide Rundown

Here is some of what you'll find in this guide:

Databases - links to scholarly literature databases such as Education Source, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

Books - links to find books & other monographic works, both in the Muntz Library and beyond.

Web Resources - links to center, professional associations, and projects dealing with Special Education, as well as collections of lesson plans.

Government Resources - links to federal and TEA resources.

Literature Review- videos on tips for creating a literature review and vidoes on using the F1000 Workspace features to make your literature review easier.

Citation Guides - examples of APA citations, plus links to creating an APA research paper and F1000 Workspace, a free citation manager.

Developmental Milestones - what children should be able to do from prenatal to adolescence.

Need Help? - contact information, troubleshooting off-campus access issues, details on interlibrary loan, and information on the Writing Center.

Library Research Tutorials

Here are a few tutorials specific to the UT Tyler Library and its resources.  Although the examples used are all from the field of reading, the basic concepts should be applicable to any type of library research in Education.  If you have any additional questions, please email me, or if you need a more immediate response, please call the reference desk at 903 566-7343 or chat via the link on the main page of the library.  At the bottom right of the homepage see the box "Chat is online."

Getting Started:

      Library WebPage, Canvas, Research Guide  (2019)

Finding Scholarly Articles and Books:

      Searching SwoopSearch Effectively (2019)

Particular Databases:

      SAGE Database for Education (2019)

      Searching Education Source, ERIC, and Professional Development Collection (2019)

Tracking down Journals:

    Getting Full Text of Articles-Education (2019)  

Resources beyond the Muntz Library:

     Interlibrary Loan-Distance (2019)

Citation Guide--APA:

     Research Guide for Citing with APA

Plagiarism:

     Plagiarism & Copyright (2019)

Citation Managers--F1000

   F1000 Workspace Overview 

This video explains what F1000 Workspace is, how to use the browser plug-in, the word plug-in, and how to collect your citations from other citation managers. BAsically, F1000 Workspace is a fantastic product that will make your researching and writing easier. AND, you can use it after you leave UT Tyler. 

Researching After You Graduate:

     Using Public Sources for Educational Research:  Google Scholar, Google Books, Worldcat.org, ERIC.ed.gov

Welcome to the Education LibGuide

For a quick start, begin with these four resources:

1.  For books that you can check out or read online today, go to the Library Catalog.

2.  For books that the UT Tyler Library does not own, go to WorldCat, search for a book, and then click on Request from Another Library.

3.  For scholarly articles, go to Education Source.  This link will actually allow you to choose three education databases (Education Source, ERIC, and Professional Development Collection, and then search them all at the same time.

4.  For dissertations and theses, go to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

 

 

 

Profile

Vandy Dubre's picture
Vandy Dubre
Contact:
(903)566-7167

Library 214
903-566-7167
Website Skype Contact: https://uttyler.zoom.us/my/vdubre

Introduction

Library Information

Muntz Library

The University of Texas at Tyler

3900 University Blvd

Tyler, TX 75799    

Circulation P: 903.566.7342

Reference P: 903.566.7343    

E: library@uttyler.edu


Web: Library Website

Mobile Web: Library Mobile Site

Connect with us!

FOLLOW THE LIBRARY!

      facebook    twitter    blogspot    youtube